Punching Diabetes in the Face

3 Aug


Ok, not really. But after a really rushed morning where I woke up cranky and drowsy, and felt like a hot mess, I arrived at my doc’s appointment about 5 minutes late and slightly damp from the rain. I wasn’t “geared up” the way I wanted to be for this appointment, I couldn’t arrive looking calm, cool and collected, like the picture of perfect, robust health (the way I wanted to). However, my A1c was 6.3!! This is a huge accomplishment for me, and put a smile on my face immediately. It was like my morning had a do-over. The rest of the appointment went really smoothly, with good conversation, and I got a new meter as a reward. Yay for new toys! What I really want is this, so I am keeping my eye out for deals (that’s right Bayer, I’m talking to you). I celebrated with a large cup of coffee + cream from Corner Bakery, and a ham/egg/swiss sandwich that I ate sans-bread (it was just cheaper to buy the sandwich and ditch the bread).
Tonight – boxing class is on the agenda, so I can let out some aggression, sleep like a rock, and wake up as the picture of perfect, robust health – tomorrow. πŸ™‚

Side note: maybe I need all-white boxing gear…

One Response to “Punching Diabetes in the Face”

  1. Keith Wilcox August 3, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    I never realized the plethora of choices in blood monitors until Daphne, Mely’s sister, came for a visit, and we went shopping for one. She’s from Mexico (as you know) and the monitors there, at least the affordable ones, are a few years behind the curve. Needless to say she went home a very happy diabetic! πŸ™‚ Glad you had a good doctor’s visit.

Leave a Reply

