Kale Chips!

2 Aug

I was lucky enough to spend a wonderful evening drinking wine with my girlfriends on Saturday. We do these nights periodically to catch up (which we so creatively dub “wine night”). They are always great fun and conversation, and usually snacks are involved. One of my friends is a member of a CSA and is currently overflowing with veggies, so our snacks this week were oh-so-healthy greens and homemade accompaniments like dill dip (my recipe thank-you-very-much), and an awesome peanut dip that I am waiting to be emailed the recipe for. I didn’t realize that Kale crisps up like a light potato chip in the oven – brushed with olive oil, baked at 350 for no more than about 10-15 minutes. This is going to become a new favorite crunchy snack of mine, as I am always on the lookout for crunchy/salty stuff to satisfy that need. I thought about buying a food dehydrator, but it goes on my future wish-list of things I don’t really “need” right now.
Sugars were fairly level this weekend, except that I made the mistake of having some homemade chocolate chip cookies along with my veggies…(oops). It’s getting harder and harder to control these minor sugar overloads without a pump or a CGM. Still, I think the evening was worth it in every way. Onward and upward (well, downward as far as sugar levels are concerned).

Doc’s appointment tomorrow – stay tuned for an update.

3 Responses to “Kale Chips!”

  1. juliebnichols August 3, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I love the kale chips idea! Any tips for artichokes? I love them when someone else prepares them, but I have always been too intimidated to try doing anything with them myself.

  2. Sarah August 3, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    I am intimidated by artichokes, too, Julie! I will have to figure something out. This looks great to me – so next time I have a little time I think I’ll go for it.
    http://paleogirls.com/2010/02/08/grilled-artichokes/

  3. juliebnichols August 3, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    I am totally trying this. YES!!!

Leave a Reply

