Butternut Squash Apple Bisque

10 Oct

I’m back (a month later, eesh)! Fall is in full swing, and I’ve been doing a lot of batch-cooking so that I’ll have great food to pack for lunches during the week. I’ve been incredibly busy, so taking an hour or two to make a huge batch of soup is really saving me when it comes to eating. I’ve also been making a lot of chili (I make it low carb by skipping the beans and adding more veggies or meat). I can’t wait – our meat CSA starts in a few weeks! That will save me some time for sure.

It was one of my goals to make the perfect butternut squash soup this year – I’ve tried it before, and somehow never quite perfected it. Until now! I came home from a nice weekend in Colorado with a recipe my Mom had given me, and after a few modifications, ended up with the below concoction for a creamy, hearty soup, sure to warm you up against the fall chill. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do:

Butternut Squash Apple Bisque

1 butternut squash
2-3 small apples (I used Jonathan, but it’s your choice)
2 cups chicken stock (or veggie stock if you are vegan)
1 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup dry white wine (optional)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 pinch cayenne pepper
1 tsp sea salt

Cut butternut squash in half and discard seeds (or perhaps toast them for snacking?) Peel and core apples, and cut them in half or quarters. Put apples and butternut squash in a baking pan with 1/4 cup of water. Cover the ban and bake at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes, or until squash is tender. Scoop cooked squash out from the skin, and put apples, squash, broth, and coconut milk into a blender or food processor. Puree until smooth. Pour into a pot on the stove or a crockpot and add the rest of the ingredients. Simmer 15 minutes or until desired temperature – then serve! Serves 6-8.

One Response to “Butternut Squash Apple Bisque”

  1. Mom October 11, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    Coconut milk sounds like a great addition – I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

