Yoga Friday

28 Aug

I love Fridays. It is my favorite day of the week. I only have to be in the office for half the day so I get to enjoy my afternoons. It’s a huge perk of my day-job. I don’t get to relax much in life, so I really cherish this window of time in which I can do, well, whatever I darned please. I have found a 3 p.m. Friday yoga class at Bloom, a lovely, airy, light-filled studio only a few stops north of me on the train. I always forget that yoga is not only really restorative but it’s actually active work. I tend to think I’ll just be stretching for an hour, rather than using my muscles to build strength. In the end, though, I always feel fantastic. I mean, who wouldn’t love any class that begins with breathing exercises and ends in at least 10 minutes of lying on the floor? My blood sugar loves it too, as yoga lowers it a bit and completely mellows it out. Sometimes I think 60+ minutes of class is too much, but I actually have come to appreciate the long classes because they force me to slow down – something I’m not very good at, I admit. I’ve been finding that hard exercise that raises adrenaline (like weight training and my boxing class) is kind of tricky, because while most exercise lowers blood sugar, those intense workouts can actually have the opposite affect and raise it. I think it has to do with “fight or flight” response in my body – being pushed to the limits causes my liver to release stored glucose. (This is my theory, anyway). It’s really frustrating, because I do like to do intense workouts sometimes. I’m still figuring out how to handle them properly. Ah well, I guess I will just have to become a yogi and have my Zen moments with my Zen blood sugar level. :) Just call me Miss Mellow.
Now, a nice evening of relaxing and some kale chips and bbq for dinner!

2 Responses to “Yoga Friday”

  1. Mimi August 28, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    I’ve been meaning to get back into yoga. I definitely feel mellowed out afterward. Haha, I’m always wound tight and just need to chill out. It’s great it has such a strong effect on you!

  2. Keith Wilcox September 10, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Yoga is an excellent choice. I used to do a lot of intense workouts (as you know) and I can’t tell you how much more satisfied I feel doing yoga instead. Granted I don’t have the cardio endurance that I used to have, but I don’t really want it anyway. Yeah, I agree — zen moments with yoga rock! Or, wait — I should say something zeny. ummmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

