A Case of the Mondays…and Almond Crusted Chicken

23 Aug

Ah, Monday. The start of the week. A day in which one should be nice and organized, geared up for the busy work-week ahead. Well, today, not me.

These are the things I did NOT do this weekend:

1. Laundry
2. Grocery Shop
3. Cook/prepare food for lunches during the week
4. Clean the house

But I did have a lot of fun with friends!

Luckily, today I was able to have a quick yummy bacon & eggs breakfast, and I knew I’d be out of the office at lunchtime so I bought a chicken apple salad, that I must say, was disappointing (and I spent $7.75). So tonight, on the agenda is boxing class, then creating my very OWN chicken apple salad to pack for tomorrow! In order to do this, I will be making some chicken strips in the manner described below:

Ingredients
2 breasts of chicken
1/4 cup almond meal
1 egg
salt & pepper to taste (or lemon pepper for a little kick!)
Coconut oil or butter for frying

Directions:
Slice up the chicken into strips
Whisk egg in a bowl or plate
Coat the strips in the egg, then roll the chicken in almond flour/salt/pepper
Heat up 1TBS of coconut oil in a frying pan and fry up the strips at Hi or Medium-Hi

That’s it. The perfect, healthy, “fried” chicken salad topping! I am looking forward to it already. I plan to add mixed greens, some sliced apple, a few raisins, and some feta to the salad as well, and probably top with balsamic & olive oil. So simple it hurts (and definitely less than $7.75 per serving). I’ll try to post a picture of my creation tomorrow if I can find my camera cord in the house. Now, on to the house cleaning and laundry….hmmm

*Also, since I am feeling the pull of my lack of organizational skills this week, a small plug for my friend Theresa who is a Professional Organizer, and who I someday hope to emulate! Check out her great tips at Ready Aim Organize, subscribe to her blog, and hopefully next Monday I’ll be in ship-shape.

One Response to “A Case of the Mondays…and Almond Crusted Chicken”

  1. Keith Wilcox August 24, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    Whoa whoa whoa there, Lady! You’re suggesting I go through effort for my food! pshht :-) Actually, it doesn’t look to difficult. Might even be something I could do! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

