Spicy Shrimp Salad and My New Meter

18 Aug

I recently stumbled across a low-maintenance recipe and all I can say is, “why didn’t I think of that?” So delicious, and so simple. I made it even simpler by modifying it a little bit to serve what was in my kitchen. I do this a lot – I look at an online recipe, decide what the key ingredients are, then tweak to my purposes or to match what I already have lying around. So, without further ado, a link to the original recipe.
I bought a bag of frozen shrimp at Trader Joe’s, and added their “hot” fresh salsa rather than worry about chopping up garlic, tomatoes, and fresh cilantro – otherwise it’s basically the same. Super simple, and a great, colorful summer salad. Warning – it gets really spicy with the jalapeno, so you can always tone it down by ditching that.

Geek Alert – I ended up getting a great deal on the new Bayer Contour USB meter. It’s like having an iPod meter – I love it that you can just plug it into your computer with no cord at all, and it makes fancy charts and graphs. Plus a color screen and re-chargeable battery? So great. Maybe others are more ahead of the times than I am, but this is really floating my boat this week. :)

3 Responses to “Spicy Shrimp Salad and My New Meter”

  1. Sara August 18, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Hey Sarah! What testing strips can you use on that new meter? It looks super cool!

    • Sarah August 18, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

      Hey Sara! Yeah, it’s great. I had a $15 off coupon and it was on sale at Walgreens for $39.99 this week (watch your local pharmacy for sales). It’s just the basic Bayer Contour test-strips – they work with all Bayer meters. You can ask your doc for a new Rx for them, they are comparable to One Touch in price.

      • Sara August 19, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

        Thank you for the info, it sounds like a good deal… Thanks again for all of your info and recipes..I am going to make the spicy shrimp salad today for my friends :) Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

