Product Review – Glenny’s Almond Cranberry Bar*

18 Aug

*I have decided to review some on-the-go snacks to help people navigate the scary (and usually gigantic) grocery store and be able to pick healthy choices. Let’s be honest, in the modern world we do not always have time to cook everything from scratch, even though that would be the most ideal way to live. No one has asked me to do this, I just think it will be fun. :)

So, I posted one a little while ago about Cultural Revolution yogurt, and today I am posting one about the delicious snack I just consumed, an Almond/Cranberry bar that was an impulse purchase at Trader Joe’s yesterday. Overall, the flavor of these bars is great – just sweet enough, not overly sugary, and really hearty with all the nuts in there. The best part, however – is that they were priced at $0.99! In a market where bars are usually selling for upwards of $1.50, this is a major bonus. (I once saw a Kind Bar priced over $2 and that’s a little sad – though they are also delicious). I really hope this was not just the “sale price” and that they will continue to be reasonably priced. The only thing I am not totally in love with in these bars are the brown rice crisps and the brown rice syrup, as it goes a bit “against the grain-free” (ha! I just made a pun). Still, overall a very healthy once-in-awhile snack.

Stats: The bar clocks in at 21g carb (a little high, so I sometimes eat just 1/2), 5g protein, and 190 calories.

I’d recommend it if you have a Trader Joe’s nearby – or you could purchase online? Let me know if you see them popping up anywhere else.

2 Responses to “Product Review – Glenny’s Almond Cranberry Bar*”

  1. Keith Wilcox August 19, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    I totally wish we had a Trader Joe’s near us. We DO have 3 whole foods markets within walking distance (seriously!)but shopping there is prohibitively expensive. I don’t normally eat bars, but sometimes I get them for the boys when they’re hungry because they’re little meals unto themselves. BTW. I like your blog design! Simple yet cute and inviting :-)

    • Sarah August 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      Thanks Keith! Yeah, I go to Whole Foods only when there is something I know they’ll have that I can’t get anywhere else (like Coconut oil). It can be really pricey to get everything there, though. Thanks for the comment on the design – I am happy with it – it was one of WordPress’s templates and I just tweaked it a bit.
      At some point, I am going to try to make my own fruit/nut bars – it seems awfully easy if I picked up all the ingredients…I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

