Dear Pizza, why must you be so hard on me?

16 Aug

I love pizza. I admit it freely. Lately, however, pizza has not been loving me back. I’ve had a really hard time bolusing (for those of you who don’t know, this is when a diabetic takes short-acting insulin to cover meals) for pizza meals. I think it’s the combo of the delicious cheese/toppings on top, and the bready, carby crust. It makes it very hard for my insulin, since the blood sugar reaction from the crust gets delayed by the slow-reacting toppings…so I tend to spike out of control many many hours past eating. *sigh* Such a wonderful combo for the taste buds, so tricky for my poor little pancreas (note: I did in fact look for a picture of a “sad pancreas” to post, but then decided that was kind of gross. :) I shall try to take a picture of my homemade pizza next time around).

I’ve been trying alternatives. None are quite like the real thing, but they satisfy my need to put pizza-like toppings together and eat it with my hands. The closest I have come is an almond-flour crust, and it’s pretty easy to make. Here is the recipe I like:

1 cup almond flour (or almond meal, from Trader Joe’s – it’s in the nut section rather than baking for some reason)
2 eggs
3 TBS olive oil
1 tsp. garlic powder
Pinch of oregano, sea salt, and pepper for flavoring (you can go crazy with these if you want to, just sort of mix in as much/little as you want for “flavor”)
1/4 cup Grated Parmesan (optional)

Mix all ingredients together to make dough (the dough will be a pretty sticky consistency). Put a piece of parchment paper onto a cookie sheet (or pizza pan if you have one) and press/roll the dough out to make the crust. To do the rolling, make sure you put another piece of parchment paper on top to keep it from sticking to your rolling pin. I’d keep it pretty thin, no more than 1/2 inch. You can also make individual mini pizzas by flattening it out with the bottom of a glass or jar. I don’t own a rolling pin, so I use empty wine bottles – they seem to do the trick. Once it is the shape you desire (or had hoped for but didn’t quite achieve), gently peel the top piece of parchment off and bake at 350 for about 13 minutes, or until the edges are looking slightly brown.

Top with whatever your heart desires, and re-cook for as long as you need to get the toppings to crisp up (or the cheese to melt if you’re a cheese-lover) Mine usually takes an extra 15 minutes at 350.

Eat, and most importantly, Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Dear Pizza, why must you be so hard on me?”

  1. Mimi August 17, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Hello! You’re such a cute writer! I’m not diabetic myself, but my father is (Type 1). I love to make him decadent desserts that aren’t loaded with sugar. I’ve gotten pretty good at it!

    Anyway, I also love Mark’s Daily Apple. After dabbling in vegetarianism/veganism and experiencing nothing but sugar cravings and crappy workouts, I am so back on the meat wagon. Toss in some butter too!

    You write well and have a very interesting perspective. I look forward to reading more.

    • Sarah August 18, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

      Thanks Mimi! Glad you stopped by. Checking out your blog now – looking forward to it! Keep me posted on those dessert recipes, s’il vous plait. :)

  2. KC October 4, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    My 15 year old is a new onset Type 1, diagnosed less than a week ago… I found your blog through Mark’s Daily Apple, which someone suggested to me about 2 weeks ago… (sometimes you have to wonder about coincidences!) Thanks for your recipes, I am looking forward to trying them! :-) And your Type 1 advice!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

