Other People’s Opinions

12 Aug

My blood sugars have been pretty up and down lately – due to a really busy social schedule; and eating out can be difficult if I am in a place where few substitutions are possible. Time to re-commit to what I know works for me, and throw caution to the wind with what other people think (this is my Achilles’ heel). For some reason, it’s a lot easier to be respected as a vegan or a vegetarian these days than a grain-free person. Probably because people don’t quite understand your choices unless you launch into a super long explanation about it. I love the environment too, people! :) Besides, I think it’s all in my head. No one really cares what you’re eating, and if they did care, they’d just ask you about it, right?

2 Responses to “Other People’s Opinions”

  1. Jackie August 16, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    I totally understand how it can be difficult to stick to your plan, especially in social situations, but just keep doing what works for you! Some of it may be in your head, but I do think subtle food-related social pressures exist. People often comment on my food choices (“What IS that?” “Oh, so you eat healthy?” “I can’t believe you’re going to eat all that!” and so on) and while I think it’s usually coming from a good place, it has the potential to irritate.

    And as for vegan/vegetarians seeming to be more accepted, I think that’s because it’s really trendy right now. Frustrating!

    Great blog, by the way!

    • Sarah August 18, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

      Thanks for your response Jackie! :) Agree on all counts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

